Hillhead Picture Salon
17 Vinicome Street
A unique and stylish former cinema, the Salon is A-listed for its architectural importance, because it is mainly constructed of reinforced concrete! It is one of the oldest concrete buildings in Glasgow, and when it opened in 1913, also featured a doorman, free tea and biscuits, plus Herr Iff's Celebrated Orchestra to entertain patrons. It featured a small balcony, with double seats a popular venue for courting couples. Later run by the Brook family, and then F&F, it ended its days as a cinema suddenly in 1992, when then owners CAC locked the doors. A major campaign to reopen it was unsuccessful, and after a spell of dereliction, it has been a series of bars and restaurants.
Image credit: ScottishCinemas.org