Charing Cross Electric
500-516 Sauchiehall Street
One of Glasgow's oldest cinemas, the Charing Cross Electric Theatre opened in part of an existing warehouse building in May 1910, and proved so popular its 450 seats soon weren't enough. Management placed adverts in local newspapers apologising for having to turn away 'thousands of people'. This 'dainty bijou hall' showed pictures that featured 'real mexicans and genuine red indians, with magnificent feathered head-dresses and all the picturesque customs of their natural lives.' The building later became the Locarno Ballroom.
Image credit: ScottishCinemas.org